Hearing on delaying school start times

Senate Education Committee

Thursday, April 4, 2024 | 1 p.m.

Hearing Room 1, NOB


1:00 p.m. – 1:05 p.m. Opening remarks
Senator Dave Argall, Majority Chair, Education Committee
Senator Lindsey Williams, Minority Chair, Education Committee

1:05 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Panel #1
Dr. Joanna Fong-Isariyawongse, MD, Associate Professor of Neurology, University of Pittsburgh
Dr. Indira Gurubhagavatula, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Amy Goldman, Co-founder, Regional Adolescent Sleep Needs Coalition

1:45 p.m. – 2:05 p.m. Panel #2
Jennifer Thomsen, Principal Consultant, Education Commission on the States

2:05 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Panel #3
Dr. Shane Hotchkiss, Superintendent, Bermudian Springs School District
Aaron Sepkowski, Owner Operator, Pocono Transportation & Vice President, Pennsylvania School Bus Association
Mark Byers, Chief Operating Officer, Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association
Jennifer Grassel, Assistant Executive Director, Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association

3:00 p.m. Conclusion

Back to Top