Senator Argall Appointed Chairman of Senate State Government Committee

HARRISBURG – Senator David G. Argall (R-Berks/Schuylkill) has been appointed by Senate President Pro Tempore Jake Corman to chair the Senate State Government Committee for the 2021-22 session.  Senator Argall will also continue to serve as a part of the Senate Majority leadership team during this session, the first Senator from the 29th Senate district in Schuylkill and Berks Counties to serve in Senate leadership since the 1860s. 

“It is an honor to serve as the new Chairman of the Senate State Government Committee,” said Argall.  “In the past, in the House and Senate, I have chaired bipartisan committees to consider budget, conservation, and blight issues and I look forward to the major challenges facing this new assignment to reform our state government and hold it accountable to the citizens of Pennsylvania.”

The State Government Committee has broad oversight over the executive branch, including the Office of the Governor, the Departments of State and General Services, as well as the Civil Service and State Ethics Commissions.  The State Government Committee is also responsible for developing and approving legislation relating to elections, ethics in state government, constitutional amendments, and redistricting.

In recent months, the Senate State Government Committee has approved bills which delayed the primary election due to COVID-19, froze legislative, court, and cabinet salaries during the pandemic, and a constitutional amendment to reform how the Lieutenant Governor is elected in Pennsylvania.

Contact: Jim Brugger


Back to Top