Argall, Goodman, Knowles, Tobash Announce H2O Grant for Schuylkill County Municipal Authority

SCHUYLKILL COUNTY – Senator David G. Argall (R-29) along with Representatives Neal Goodman (D-123), Jerry Knowles (R-124) and Mike Tobash (R-125) today announced Schuylkill County Municipal Authority will receive $4 million through Pennsylvania’s Department of Community and Economic Development’s H2O PA program.

“During these tough economic times, our infrastructure is a vital part of our communities,” said Argall. “I’m pleased to see the Schuylkill County Municipal Authority receive this necessary funding to maintain and improve their water supply for West Brunswick Township, Deer Lake, Auburn and Orwigsburg Boroughs. I applaud the efforts of the Schuylkill County Municipal Authority, especially Pat Caulfield, to put a strong plan in place to benefit the residents of Schuylkill County.”

Representative Goodman continued, “I want to congratulate Schuylkill Municipal Authority for its hard work in securing this money. This funding will go a long way toward allowing the authority to continue its mission to supply water and sewage services to multiple communities throughout Schuylkill County.”

“Despite our difficult financial situation, maintaining our infrastructure and protecting our environment are important priorities,” said Knowles. “This grant provides much-needed funding to help Schuylkill County meet those goals.”

“Making improvements to our water and sewer systems and addressing flood problems are important public health and safety initiatives,” Tobash said. “When I learned funding had been set aside last year for projects like these, I took steps to advocate for these important local projects.”

Pat Caulfield, Executive Director of the Schuylkill County Municipal Authority, concluded, “We are extremely satisfied and appreciate the efforts put in by all parties involved in this project. The Schuylkill County delegation worked together to demonstrate a true Schuylkill County partnership. This is a major project that will benefit at least four municipalities and solve some serious environmental problems, along with opening up the corridors along routes 61 and 895 for additional economic development.”

The H2O PA Act was established by the General Assembly in July 2008. The Act provides for single-year or multi-year grants to municipalities or municipal authorities to assist with the construction of important drinking water, sanitary sewer and storm sewer projects.

Contact: Jon Hopcraft (Sen. Argall)
717.787.2637 | 570.773.0891
Contact: Bob Laylo (Rep. Goodman)
Contact: Sean Yeakle (Rep. Knowles)
Contact: Patricia Hippler (Rep. Tobash)

Back to Top