Safety Grants Awarded to Four Schools in the 29th Senatorial District

HARRISBURG – The Pennsylvania Department of Education recently announced over $7 million in school safety grants, including grants to public and nonpublic schools in the 29th senate district in Schuylkill and Berks Counties, according to Senator David G. Argall.  These grants are given to schools to assist in the continuing effort to prevent violent incidents.

Senator Argall sponsored legislation to extend this aid to nonpublic schools for increasing school safety.  The Majority Policy Committee, which he chairs, held 10 roundtable discussions on this topic and proper funding to address safety concerns in public and nonpublic schools was one of the recurring themes. 

“Our children are our future, and making sure they have a safe environment to learn and grow in is critically important.  These grants will go a long way to ensuring these schools will provide just that,” said Argall.

The schools in Schuylkill County that received grants were Williams Valley School District, Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and Marian Catholic.  Berks County IU 14 also received a grant.

Contact: Jim Brugger